Observatory: Mauna Kea in the Clouds

ImageImage

Driving to the top of Mauna Kea was one of the most beautiful drives I have ever taken. You literally drive through the clouds as you ascend 14,000 feet. At the time I was using a small rental car and there were several moments when I thought to myself, “Hmm, I wonder if I will actually make it up…Dot, dot, dot”. Every other vehicle was either a full-fledged truck or a very large SUV. It was a miracle I made it. Mauna Kea is a dormant volcano and it is home to the largest astronomical observatory in the world. The world. I think that’s pretty neat. It is also absolutely freezing at the top.

Leave a Reply

