Island Lessons

Shave Ice Lunch

I have lived in Hawaii for about a month now, and I have learned a few valuable tidbits of knowledge thus far. I humbly present:

1. Do not ride your bicycle between the hours of 3:30 and 5:30pm. If this is unavoidable, you must first resign yourself to the fact that you will be covered in gnats. I do not mean a sprinkling, or even a light dusting. No. Covered. Long sleeves, long pants, these will not help. Neither will protective eyewear such as goggles or glasses. This is the price you pay for Paradise.

2. Shave Ice meal replacements will do. For the first two weeks or so, I treated myself to a shave ice nearly every day for lunch. I learned early on that A. Shave ice is substantial enough for a meal (assuming of course that you spring for the Azuki beans and the ever-lovable Mochi). And B. The price is right. Living on the Island can be tricky as far as monetary funds go, and eating out is never cheap. But when you find a good shave ice shack that delivers, you’re good to go.

3. Watch yo Step. One of my FAVORITE things about living on this island is the fact that I can see a sea turtle almost any time I want. Sometimes however, they are tricky to spot. So tricky in fact that they might even look like a large slab of stone beneath the rippling waters. My boyfriend almost accidentally killed a sea turtle. Be careful where you tread.

Leave a Reply

